Hong Kong Expert Selections for Wednesday, May 15

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS
(Wednesday May 15, 2024)

Race 1: #8 Timestorm, #1 Cheer For South, #10 August Moon, #2 Noble One
Race 2:
#4 Big Red, #9 Running Boy, #5 Strongest Boy, #10 Fruity Warrior
Race 3:
#2 Gallant Waking, #3 Noble Pursuit, #7 Flamingo Trillion, #9 Intrepid Winner
Race 4:
#9 Happihood, #3 To Infinity, #7 Big Two, #4 Master Of Luck
Race 5:
#6 Cosmo Navigator, #4 Glory Cloud, #3 Currahee, #1 Sunny Darling
Race 6:
#3 Ma Comet, #11 Joy In Joy, #2 Fortune Warrior, #5 Sergeant Pepper
Race 7:
#1 Affordable, #4 Dragon Star, #3 Turin Warrior, #9 Mr Aladdin
Race 8:
#11 Happy Feeling, #4 Prime Mortar, #3 Sight Supreme, #2 Double Bingo
Race 9:
#2 Copartner Prance, #9 California Touch, #10 Our Lucky Glory, #1 Winning Icey

Hong Kong Expert Selections for Wednesday:

Race 1: Dordogne Handicap (3.40am PDT, 6.40am EDT)

#8 Timestorm is still without a win. He’s been racing well this term and Hugh Bowman’s retention is an advantage. He was competitive in Class 4 earlier this season and it’s only a matter of time now before he does break through in the bottom grade. #1 Cheer For South makes the drop in class. Chances are he rolls forward under the apprentice in a bid to press for the lead. He’ll give them something to run down. #10 August Moon has the sweet draw. He’ll save ground and get his chance. #2 Noble One is a threat. Keep safe.

Hong Kong Happy Valley fireworksRace 2: Ciron Handicap (2nd Section) (4.10am PDT, 7.10am EDT)

#4 Big Red is favoured with the apprentice up. He’s yet to win in Hong Kong, however, he has shown all of the right signs suggesting that he can get on the board in the city. It’ll come soon and his form in the grade above holds him in good stead. One to beat. #9 Running Boy caught the eye late last start. He’s an improving type and the inside gate favours him. #5 Strongest Boy can bounce back, especially with Zac Purton taking the reins. #10 Fruity Warrior slots in light and is steadily improving. Next in line.

Race 3: Loire Handicap (4.40am PDT, 7.40am EDT)

#2 Gallant Waking has regained some form. His most recent efforts have been sound and he appears ready to make a return to winning ways. The gate is an advantage. #3 Noble Pursuit does his best racing at Happy Valley and his latest two efforts were superb. He’s still got a few rating points in hand. #7 Flamingo Trillion is after back-to-back wins. He’s hit his straps at present and is favoured if there happens to be any rain around. #9 Intrepid Winner has a featherweight impost. He’s already a course and distance winner.

Race 4: Rhone Handicap (5.10am PDT, 8.10am EDT)

#9 Happihood is making steady improvement. He slots in light and the featherweight can really bring him on against this group. He gets his chance and could be decent value. #3 To Infinity has a suitable gate and jockey. He has the hefty impost, although he should get a sweet run throughout as he aims to offset his burden. #7 Big Two is looking to snap a run of five consecutive top-three finishes. He’s racing well and can’t be ignored this week. #4 Master Of Luck comes into this following a string of good runs. Next in line.

Race 5: The Sauternes Cup Handicap (1st Section) (5.40am PDT, 8.40am EDT)

#6 Cosmo Navigator has raced well over this course and distance. He gets his opportunity here and chances are he can outperform his odds, especially based on his first-up effort and most recent run. Worth an each way shout. #4 Glory Cloud is closing in on a first win. He goes about his racing well and is looking to snap a pair of top-three efforts. #3 Currahee clearly has ability and his debut effort at Sha Tin was solid. Expecting him to take a forward step this week. #1 Sunny Darling comes down in class. Next best.

Race 6: Rhine Handicap (6.10am PDT, 9.10am EDT)

#3 Ma Comet is lightly raced but clearly has ability. He can improve following his first run in Class 4 and this contest is well within his grasp. #11 Joy In Joy returns first-up following a lengthy out. He’s been trialling well and the light weight brings him strongly into contention, as does his racing pattern, which could easily see him lead. #2 Fortune Warrior is suited in this grade and can make his presence felt if he manages to overcome the wide gate. #5 Sergeant Pepper is next in line.

Race 7: Ciron Handicap (1st Section) (6.45am PDT, 9.45am EDT)

#1 Affordable was luckless last start. He was caught without room late and clearly showed that he had much, much more to offer. He dips in grade here and shapes as decent value here. #4 Dragon Star has consistency on his side. He’ll press forward under Zac Purton and take his opportunity. #3 Turin Warrior is after back-to-back wins. He’s been solid across his entire career and the inside gate has him favoured once more. #9 Mr Aladdin slots in light and continues to develop. Keep safe.

Race 8: Garonne Handicap (2nd Section) (7.15am PDT, 10.15am EDT)

#11 Happy Feeling slots in light. He was withdrawn due to a setback last start, although his most recent run prior to that was superb. Expecting him to take his chance here under the featherweight. #4 Prime Mortar has swapped stables. His latest trial was outstanding and chances are they cross early in a bid to offset the wide draw. #3 Sight Supreme finished fifth first-up. He can improve again and is suited with Zac Purton, especially as he aims to overcome the wide draw. #2 Double Bingo is next best.

Race 9: Seine Handicap (7.50am PDT, 10.50am EDT)

#2 Copartner Prance is an exciting horse. He continues to raise the bar and will seek a fourth straight win this week. Zac Purton retains the ride and he’s the clear top pick from an in-form stable. #9 California Touch has found his feet and is aided with gate one as a potential pacesetter. #10 Our Lucky Glory is seeking a hat-trick of wins. He rises in grade, although his past two wins have been superb. He looks up to the challenge. #1 Winning Icey has the apprentice engaged. He’s much better suited now in Class 3.

Source:

The Hong Kong Jockey Club