Hong Kong Horse Racing Selections – Wednesday, Feb. 21

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS
(Wednesday, February 21, 2024)

Race 1: #1 Savvy Chic, #2 Wood On Fire, #5 Kilindini, #4 Glory Cloud
Race 2:
#2 Happy Together, #3 La City Blanche, #7 Mr Ascendency, #4 Dancing Code
Race 3:
#4 Great Achiever, #2 Jolly Companion, #11 Alloy King, #3 Happy Fat Cat
Race 4:
#3 Son Pak Fu, #6 Bundle Of Charm, #1 Duke Wai, #8 Tomodachi Kokoroe
Race 5:
#10 Kyrus Unicorn, #11 Sunny Baby, #6 Mr Aladdin, #12 Turtle Again
Race 6:
#10 Noble Win, #2 Win Win Fighter, #5 Galvanic, #1 Gallant Valour
Race 7:
#8 Escape Route, #12 Red Hare King, #4 Tourbillon Prince, #1 Galaxy Witness
Race 8:
#3 Copartner Ambition, #1 Wonder Kit, #7 Bon’s A Pearla, #5 Winning Icey
Race 9:
#9 Atomic Energy, #1 Explosive Witness, #5 Happy United, #3 Heroic Master

 

Race 1: Wang Tak Handicap (2nd Section) (2.40am PST, 5.40am EST)

 

#1 Savvy Chic gets down to Class 4. His last run in this grade returned a win and he draws suitably for this contest with Karis Teetan aboard. He’s the one they all must beat. #2 Wood On Fire is favoured with the 10 pounds coming off his back. He loves the track and can make his presence felt here. #5 Kilindini has a tricky gate to overcome but he is racing well. He’s a threat. #4 Glory Cloud was sound on debut and can improve second-up. He has the scope to do so and just needs luck from the gate.

 

Race 2: Shan Kwong Handicap (3.10am PST, 6.10am EST)

 

#2 Happy Together is a seriously good horse and he raced without luck last start at Group 3 level. He was a winner in that grade two starts back and a return to that level of form should see him go on with it here. #3 La City Blanche rarely runs a bad race and he deserves a win. He’s been in sound form of late and should contend strongly. #7 Mr Ascendency slots in light and should get an opportunity. He’s versatile and comes into this off the back of a strong effort for third. #4 Dancing Code is next in line.

 

Race 3: Wang Tak Handicap (1st Section) (3.40am PST, 6.40am EST)

 

#4 Great Achiever has ability and it wouldn’t surprise to see him bounce back here. He draws ideally and is worth taking a chance on this week. #2 Jolly Companion can mix his form but there is definitely some talent there. He’s suited in this grade and it wouldn’t surprise to see him turn it around. #11 Alloy King knows what it’s all about over this course and distance. He slots in light and is in the right vein of form at the minute. #3 Happy Fat Cat can roll forward and lead. He’ll give this group something to reel in.

 

Race 4: Singapore Pools Handicap (4.10am PST, 7.10am EST)

 

#3 Son Pak Fu was a competitive fourth last start at Group 1 level. He’s racing well at present and a return to his preferred course and distance suggests he’ll be hard to beat. #6 Bundle Of Charm is in the form of his life and he hasn’t put a step wrong of late. He’ll be fighting this one out. #1 Duke Wai has the class-edge but will be forced to lug the hefty impost. He’ll be right there in the thick of things though. #8 Tomodachi Kokoroe slots in light and is advantaged at the bottom of the handicap. He’ll need to step up but does get a serious shot.

 

Race 5: Yuk Sau Handicap (4.40am PST, 7.40am EST)

 

#10 Kyrus Unicorn made a stack of ground late last start and he can take another step forward this week. He’s going the right way and gets a superb chance here. #11 Sunny Baby won well last start and he might be able to surprise as he goes back up to Class 4. #6 Mr Aladdin is tracking the right way and if his setback is a thing of the past then he’s a worthy inclusion. #12 Turtle Again slots in light and just has the gate to overcome. He is in very good form and can figure in this grade.

 

Race 6: Yik Yam Handicap (5.10am PST, 8.10am EST)

 

#10 Noble Win is in the right vein of form and he’s shown that a first win is close. He’s worth taking a chance on here under Matthew Poon from the ideal draw. #2 Win Win Fighter is racing well and was a solid winner two runs back. He’s remained at the level of form and gets another super shot here off a suitable mark. #5 Galvanic has the ability but is struggling to piece it all together. Gate one should afford him the right chance. #1 Gallant Valour has sprung to prominence this season. He just has the awkward draw to overcome.

 

Race 7: Village Handicap (5.45am PST, 8.45am EST)

 

#8 Escape Route finds a suitable contest. He’s been super consistent of late and any luck can see him go on with it here. The lightweight is a bonus. #12 Red Hare King is in terrific form with three seconds and one win from his last four starts. He’s lowly weighted and gets his chance. #4 Tourbillon Prince can mix his form but does have serious potential on his day. #1 Galaxy Witness loves to run home without winning. He’s consistent though and a hot tempo could easily bring him strongly into contention.

 

Race 8: Sing Woo Handicap (6.15am PST, 9.15am EST)

 

#3 Copartner Ambition is the one they all must beat as he chases a fifth win this season. He’s got a stack of ability and his ascent can persevere here, especially from an ideal gate. #1 Wonder Kit just doesn’t know how to run poorly. He’s consistent and is a huge threat under a familiar pair of hands. #7 Bon’s A Pearla finally got on the board earlier this campaign. She’ll get back and finish strongly. #5 Winning Icey is third-up and returns to his preferred course and distance here. Keep safe.

 

Race 9: King Kwong Handicap (6.50am PST, 9.50am EST)

 

#9 Atomic Energy goes about his racing very well, especially at Happy Valley. He gets a super chance to win here and does appear to still have plenty of rating points in hand. One to beat. #1 Explosive Witness won well last start and can continue to race at that level of form. He has the big weight to contend with, however, his recent form has been superb. #5 Happy United continues to raise the bar and this is another test for him. #3 Heroic Master can easily reverse his form and take his shot at this group. Next best.

Share this with your horse racing friends
Handicapping tips from agameofskill.com

Subscribe

* indicates required





Email Format


About Editor

Rich Nilsen is an 18-time qualifier to the National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), an event he has cashed in four times. He was the first player to finish in the top 10 of the NHC twice. A former executive with Brisnet.com and a member of the NHC Players’ Committee, Rich is a graduate of the University of Louisville Equine Business Program and is founder of AGameofSkill.com, a site devoted to horse racing education and promotion.

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in International Horse Racing
Hong Kong Horse Racing Selections – Special Thursday Card

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS (Thursday, February 15, 2024) Race 1: #1 More Rice, #2 Wind Speeder, #9 Great Days, #5 August...

Close