Hong Kong Horse Racing Analysis for Wednesday – Feb. 28

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS
(Wednesday, February 28, 2024)

Race 1: #10 Loyal Ambition, #3 Palace Pal, #8 Brilliant Pioneer, #12 Mighty Star
Race 2:
#3 Fire Ball, #1 Chiu Chow Brother, #7 Double Show, #6 Tactical Command
Race 3:
#10 Circuit Seven, #3 Parents’ Love, #12 Lean Master, #5 Oversubscribed
Race 4:
#7 Gold Tack, #3 Dragon Star, #2 Samarkand, #5 Sturdy Ruby
Race 5:
#1 Superb Capitalist, #5 Raging Blizzard, #6 Wings Of War, #3 Healthy Healthy
Race 6:
#2 Super Joy N Fun, #9 Crystal Powerful, #3 Golden Bull, #10 Tattenham
Race 7:
#4 M Unicorn, #5 Ivy League, #3 Eighteen Palms, #2 Silver Sonic
Race 8:
#2 Joyful Hunter, #8 Denfield, #4 Sugar Sugar, #7 Chain Of Gold  
Race 9:
#11 Dan Attack, #1 Beauty Infinity, #7 Vantastic Choice, #3 Jumbo Legend

 

Race 1: Sai Kung Handicap (2.40am PST, 5.40am EST) 

#10 Loyal Ambition is racing well and he’s so, so close to recording another win. He gets that opportunity here under Karis Teetan, even from the widest draw. #3 Palace Pal has a powerful finish and he’s on the cusp of landing a first win. He’s better than Class 5, however, his get-back style of racing is proving costly. #8 Brilliant Pioneer was solid last start and he can continue to race at the level of form here. He’ll shuffle back early before closing late. #12 Mighty Star slots in light and managed to turn his form around last start. Next best.

 

Hong Kong Happy Valley fireworksRace 2: Tai Po Handicap (3.10am PST, 6.10am EST) 

#3 Fire Ball was a tidy winner two starts ago and he remains in Class 5. He’s racing well and gets a suitable chance this week. He’ll take beating on recent form. #1 Chiu Chow Brother’s last start in Class 5 returned a win. Chances are he rolls to the front from the gate and tries to play catch me if you can. He can take reeling in. #7 Double Show is a winner already this season and he’s holding his condition. He gets his chance. #6 Tactical Command has mixed his form but perhaps from gate one he can use this to his advantage. Next best.

 

Race 3: Fanling Handicap (3.40am PST, 6.40am EST) 

#10 Circuit Seven won well last start and he gets another chance in the grade here. Zac Purton hops up and his winning form might be too much this group. #3 Parents’ Love is doing plenty right and he’s lightly raced with a stack of upside. Expecting further improvement from him this week. #12 Lean Master slots in light and gets his opportunity. He has a stack of gate speed and could easily take up the running here. #5 Oversubscribed knows how to win at Happy Valley and he has a strong closing speed. Next best.

 

Race 4: Sheung Shui Handicap (4.10am PST, 7.10am EST) 

#7 Gold Tack has returned in sound condition this season. He’s gone close several times across his career and gets another super chance returning to Happy Valley. Conditions suit and he’s the one they all must beat. #3 Dragon Star rarely runs a bad race. He’ll roll forward and make his own luck from there. #2 Samarkand is a two-time winner this season. He’s still racing well and is worth keeping an eye on. #5 Sturdy Ruby charged into second position last start. Expecting similar again from him here with Zac Purton sticking aboard.

 

Race 5: The Rotary Centenary Challenge Cup Handicap (1st Section) (4.40am PST, 7.40am EST) 

#1 Superb Capitalist can roll to the front and give this group something to catch. He’s a solid talent who can use the inside gate to his advantage. One to catch, even though he can mix his form at times. #5 Raging Blizzard has a few rating points still in hand. He’s lightly raced but has a stack of potential. #6 Wings Of War narrowly missed last start. He can take another step forward this week and has shown that he’s close to a first win. #3 Healthy Healthy has been in superb form this season. He gets his chance.

 

Race 6: Tsuen Wan Handicap (2nd Section) (5.10am PST, 8.10am EST) 

#2 Super Joy N Fun won in fine style on debut and he has the scope to further improve this week. He’s a super talent and his best is yet to come. One to beat. #9 Crystal Powerful failed in his bid to capture a hat-trick of wins last start, still, he managed to make up significant ground and with luck he should go close this week. #3 Golden Bull is yet to win but has always been around the mark. This shouldn’t change, especially with Zac Purton aboard. #10 Tattenham is next in line. He goes about his racing very well.

Read the recap of the 2024 Saudi Cup

Race 7: Tsing Yi Handicap (5.45am PST, 8.45am EST) 

#4 M Unicorn is a four-time winner this season. He’s rapidly rising and his ascent appears far from over, especially with Hugh Bowman hopping up from an ideal draw. He’s the one they all must beat. #5 Ivy League is in the right vein of form this term. He’s a winner now and remains a factor this week. #3 Eighteen Palms is chasing back-to-back wins. Remaining in Class 3 is a plus, especially with Harry Bentley engaged once more. #2 Silver Sonic is better than his form suggests. He can make his presence felt from gate one. Don’t discount.

 

Race 8: Kwai Chung Handicap (2nd Section) (6.15am PST, 9.15am EST) 

#2 Joyful Hunter can mix his form but he is seriously good on his day. His latest effort was sound for fourth and he should be able to take another forward step here. One to beat. #8 Denfield slots in light with Zac Purton engaged. He’s consistent, aside from his effort two starts ago, and this should be rewarded soon enough this season. #4 Sugar Sugar got on the board last time out and that level of form holds him in good stead here. #7 Chain Of Gold has improved across his only two starts in Hong Kong. Keep safe.

 

Race 9: Tsuen Wan Handicap (1st Section) (6.50am PST, 9.50am EST) 

#11 Dan Attack was an impressive winner last start and he can continue to step up this week. He remains in Class 4 which suits and carries another light weight, even against strong opposition. #1 Beauty Infinity is lightly raced and continues to progress. He’ll take beating under Zac Purton, even with top weight assigned. #7 Vantastic Choice is a two-time winner from his last three starts. Expecting he’ll lead and give this group something to run down. #3 Jumbo Legend is better than his last start suggests. He’ll reverse that form here.

Share this with your horse racing friends
Handicapping tips from agameofskill.com

Subscribe

* indicates required





Email Format


About Editor

Rich Nilsen is an 18-time qualifier to the National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), an event he has cashed in four times. He was the first player to finish in the top 10 of the NHC twice. A former executive with Brisnet.com and a member of the NHC Players’ Committee, Rich is a graduate of the University of Louisville Equine Business Program and is founder of AGameofSkill.com, a site devoted to horse racing education and promotion.

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in International Horse Racing
Dust Settles in the Desert: A Recap of the Thrilling 2024 Saudi Cup!

The sand has barely settled on the King Abdulaziz Racecourse in Riyadh, but the echoes of hooves and cheers still...

Close