Hong Kong Expert Selections – Wed., March 27

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS
(Wednesday, March 27, 2024)

Race 1: #2 Windicator Family, #7 Atomic Beauty, #1 Viva Hunter, #10 Mach Ten
Race 2:
#2 Pegasus General, #1 Romantic Fantasy, #8 Palace Pal, #3 Precise Express
Race 3:
#10 Brother Pearl, #5 Master Of Luck, #4 Diamond Diamond, #11 Foxhunter Way
Race 4:
#11 Winning Heart, #2 Golden Luck, #6 Yoda’s Choice, #8 Lucky Quality
Race 5:
#2 Comet Splendido, #7 Turin Warrior, #5 Snowalot, #11 Po On Way
Race 6:
#6 Super Taichi, #3 Ernest Feeling, #1 King Eccellente, #4 Happy Soul
Race 7:
#6 Beauty Waves, #7 Harmony Fire, #5 Happy United, #2 Great State
Race 8:
#7 Star Contact, #3 Quantum Patch, #10 Show Respect, #8 Lucky Eight
Race 9:
#11 Captain Win, #4 Beauty Infinity, #12 Joy Coming, #1 Pleasant Endeavor

 

Race 1: To Kwa Wan Handicap (2nd Section) (3.40am PDT, 6.40am EDT) 

#2 Windicator Family steps down in grade. He’s been making inroads in Class 3 and is far better suited here, even from the wide draw, which should see him shuffle back to the tail of the field early on. #7 Atomic Beauty is consistent and his reward for effort shouldn’t be too far away. He’s suited here. #1 Viva Hunter has the class-edge and pairs favourably with an in-form Karis Teetan. #10 Mach Ten slots in light and has claims, especially from the positive draw which should afford him the right run.

 

Race 2: Ma Tau Wai Handicap (4.10am PDT, 7.10am EDT) 

#2 Pegasus General has been racing well and he’s closing in on another win. He’s drawn ideally here for Hugh Bowman, who can easily find the right spot and ensure he gets every opportunity. #1 Romantic Fantasy is lightly raced but was a solid winner two runs back. He’s remained in suitable form and gets his shot here. #8 Palace Pal finally broke through last start. Expecting another strong run from him here, although he can be a touch weak over the concluding stages. #3 Precise Express is better suited to this grade. Next in line.

 

Race 3: Wang Tau Hom Handicap (4.40am PDT, 7.40am EDT)

 

#10 Brother Pearl is closing in on a first win for Dennis Yip. The in-form trainer won the BMW Hong Kong Derby last weekend and he has this guy in the right vein of form. #5 Master Of Luck exploded to an impressive victory last start. He’s in the form of his life and another strong showing is expected. #4 Diamond Diamond has been around the mark all season and his pairing with Zac Purton catches the eye. #11 Foxhunter Way slots in light and has a suitable draw. He narrowly missed last start and can go close again.

 

Race 4: Lok Fu Handicap (1st Section) (5.10am PDT, 8.10am EDT)

 

#11 Winning Heart has a low weight and appears close to winning his first race in Hong Kong. Tony Cruz has the horse going very well and he steps away here off a suitable mark. #2 Golden Luck can roll forward and give this group something to reel in. He’ll cross in a bid to offset the awkward draw and look the winner at some stage. #6 Yoda’s Choice is lightly raced but continues to make inroads. He has a positive gate and should get his opportunity. #8 Lucky Quality has been consistent all term. He gets a handy five pounds off his back.

 

Race 5: To Kwa Wan Handicap (1st Section) (5.40am PDT, 8.40am EDT)

 

#2 Comet Splendido comes down in grade and draws ideally. He can mix his form, however, his last run was superb in defeat and that’s the sort of effort that he can transcend into victory. #7 Turin Warrior has the capabilities, although still finds himself without a win. He’ll get his chance and be around the mark once more. #5 Snowalot has a tricky gate to contend with this week. Expecting Zac Purton to cross early in a bid to offset this hindrance. #11 Po On Way is next in line. There’s something there and he shapes as the value runner.

 

Race 6: Lok Fu Handicap (2nd Section) (6.10am PDT, 9.10am EDT)

 

#6 Super Taichi makes his debut. He’s been trialling well and is worth a shot here, especially with Karis Teetan electing to ride first-up in Hong Kong. #3 Ernest Feeling is a super little horse, especially in this grade. He continues to make his presence felt and the inside gate is favourable. #1 King Eccellente gets a handy 10 pounds taken off his back. He’s going about his racing the right way now and gets another chance this week. #4 Happy Soul is after back-to-back wins. He should get a sweet run from the gate.

 

Race 7: Hok Yuen Handicap (6.45am PDT, 9.45am EDT)

 

#6 Beauty Waves is seeking a first win. He’s hit the ground running in Hong Kong and the inside gate is a big plus, especially with Zac Purton engaged. One to beat. #7 Harmony Fire is chasing back-to-back wins. The 10 pounds comes off his back and he just has the tricky draw to overcome this week. #5 Happy United has been in super form all season and the inside gate affords him yet another great opportunity. He’s lightly raced and has a few rating points still in hand. #2 Great State was sound on debut and any improvement brings him right into contention.

 

Race 8: Ma Tau Kok Handicap (7.15am PDT, 10.15am EDT)

 

#7 Star Contact is a winner already this season and his recent form has been solid. He gets another chance this week and any luck afforded can easily him see him deliver again. #3 Quantum Patch deserves another win this season. He’s been performing with plenty of merit and Zac Purton’s booking ensures his chance. #10 Show Respect is seeking back-to-back wins. He slots in light as he returns to Class 3. #8 Lucky Eight has returned to a winning mark and he remains a threat this week.

 

Race 9: Kowloon City Handicap (7.50am PDT, 10.50am EDT)

 #11 Captain Win has been superb in his last two starts, twice finishing second at Happy Valley. He gets another opportunity here under the light weight and stepping from a good gate. He’s deserving and ready to win again. #4 Beauty Infinity is a lightly raced talent. He keeps improving and can do so once more under Zac Purton. #12 Joy Coming is chasing back-to-back wins. He slots in light and deserves his chance up in grade. #1 Pleasant Endeavor gets a handy 10 pounds removed from his back. Keep safe.

Share this with your horse racing friends
Handicapping tips from agameofskill.com

Subscribe

* indicates required





Email Format


About Editor

Rich Nilsen is an 18-time qualifier to the National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), an event he has cashed in four times. He was the first player to finish in the top 10 of the NHC twice. A former executive with Brisnet.com and a member of the NHC Players’ Committee, Rich is a graduate of the University of Louisville Equine Business Program and is founder of AGameofSkill.com, a site devoted to horse racing education and promotion.

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in International Horse Racing
Hong Kong sees all-time record turnover for horse racing betting
Hong Kong Expert Horse Racing Analysis – Wed, March 6

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS (Wednesday, March 06, 2024) Race 1: #7 Young Horizon, #6 Nordic Combined, #1 Rattan World, #8 General...

Close