HKJC Expert Horse Racing Selections for Hong Kong – Sat., Jan. 13

SHA TIN SELECTIONS
(Saturday, January 13, 2024)

Race 1: #14 Smart Beauty, #2 Dragon Delight, #5 Fire Ball, #13 Tsuen Wan Glory
Race 2:
#8 Master Mastermind, #1 Top Scorer, #2 Joy Of Spring, #10 Mr Maestro
Race 3:
#1 Must Go, #3 Run Run Timing, #8 Ruby Sailing, #2 Sight Hero 
Race 4:
#6 Deep Pursuit, #1 James Tak, #9 Lifeline Express, #2 Metro Warrior
Race 5:
#2 Fighting Machine, #13 Kasi Farasi, #8 Volcanic Spark, #7 Master Tornado 
Race 6:
#7 Lucky Eternity, #12 Northern Beast, #1 Holy Lake, #3 Beato
Race 7:
#6 Galaxy Patch, #7 Lucky Encounter, #1 Ping Hai Galaxy, #5 Bundle Of Charm
Race 8:
#9 Denfield, #2 Cotton Fingers, #4 I Give, #10 Magnificent Nine
Race 9:
#7 Hakka Radiance,#13 Star Mac, #2 Chancheng Glory, #3 Speed Dragon
Race 10:
#3 Joyful Hunter, #4 Leslie, #6 Beauty Fit, #1 Beauty Crescent

Race 1: Hung Shui Kiu Handicap (9.00pm PST, 12.00am EST)

#14 Smart Beauty slots in light and gets a superb chance to record a first win. He caught the eye late last start, enough so to suggest that he was capable of breaking through. Angus Chung’s five-pound apprentice claim helps. #2 Dragon Delight is performing well in the bottom grade. He’s drawn ideally and pairs favourably with Hugh Bowman. #5 Fire Ball is after consecutive wins. He gets his chance here, however, he will need to overcome the wide gate. #13 Tsuen Wan Glory is next in line with the featherweight.

Race 2: Lam Tei Handicap (2nd Section) (9.30pm PST, 12.30am EST)

#8 Master Mastermind makes his debut. He’s done well ahead of his first-up run and he does look well placed here to make his presence felt in a big, big way. Worth a chance. #1 Top Scorer was sound first-up when finishing second. He can improve from that effort. #2 Joy Of Spring soared to an improbable runner-up finish on debut two runs back. He can return to form with the prospect of a dry track this weekend. #10 Mr Maestro has been solid across two runs and he can only get better. Keep safe.

Hong Kong horse racingRace 3: Lam Tei Handicap (1st Section) (10.00pm PST, 1.00am EST)

#1 Must Go makes a favourable step down to Class 4. He found form last start and shapes as the one to beat here, as long as he can back that effort up again. #3 Run Run Timing has finished third twice across two runs in Hong Kong. He continues to progress and his day will come soon enough. #8 Ruby Sailing knows how to run well without winning. He’s finished second four times across his short career, however, must be included once more with Hugh Bowman up. #2 Sight Hero is next in line.

Race 4: Lau Fau Shan Handicap (10.30pm PST, 1.30am EST)

#6 Deep Pursuit has taken some time to get going. He’s now ready to make his debut and he does so after an eye-catching trial at Conghua. He draws well for this race down the straight five furlongs and does get Vincent Ho up. One to beat. #1 James Tak is chasing back-to-back wins and he gets a handy 10 pounds taken off his back. He’ll be fighting out another finish. #9 Lifeline Express can improve after finishing third on debut. #2 Metro Warrior steps down to Class 4. He can compete strongly now.

Race 5: Nam Sang Wai Handicap (11.00pm PST, 2.00am EST)

#2 Fighting Machine is after consecutive wins and he can easily get that here. The wide draw is a hindrance, however, his latest score was superb and he remains in Class 4 following that effort. #13 Kasi Farasi was blocked for a run at crucial stages last time out. Expecting he can bounce back from that run, especially as he’s clearly in the right vein of form at the minute. #8 Volcanic Spark is lightly raced but does have plenty of upside, especially with Hugh Bowman taking the reins. #7 Master Tornado is next in line.

Race 6: Ping Shan Handicap (11.35pm PST, 2.35am EST)

#7 Lucky Eternity has raced well this season and he deserves a first win. He’s twice finished second over the course and distance this term, both times missing by under a length. Hugh Bowman hops back aboard and he’s ready to win. #12 Northern Beast closed off nicely to finish fifth last time out. Expecting similar again from him. #1 Holy Lake is a two-time winner from his last three starts. He can figure. #3 Beato is racing well and closing in on a first win. Zac Purton hops up here and he has claims.

Race 7: The Pok Oi Cup Handicap (12.05am PST, 3.05am EST)

#6 Galaxy Patch returns in a bid for a hat-trick of wins. He’s been touted as one of the next big things in Hong Kong racing and he shouldn’t disappoint this weekend. He can win and win well. #7 Lucky Encounter will prove a formidable opponent. He’s lightly raced and open to improvement as a smart four-time winner from seven starts. #1 Ping Hai Galaxy can fire forward to lead. He’s got the class-edge over rivals which does see him assigned top-weight. #5 Bundle Of Charm is next in line. He’s been solid this term.

Race 8: Tai Tong Handicap (12.35am PST, 3.35am EST)

#9 Denfield can offset the draw by rolling forward to lead. He won’t be alone, however, he has shown that he’s best suited from a forward position and he did also have excuses last start. He can return to form and give this race a shake. #2 Cotton Fingers should get the run of the race from draw one. He’s closing in on a first win and clearly has his fair share of ability. #4 I Give is another who should roll forward. He’s a prolific winner who can make his presence felt. #10 Magnificent Nine was without luck last start. Next best.

Race 9: Tin Shui Wai Handicap (1.10am PST, 4.10am EST)

#7 Hakka Radiance was impeded in the straight last start. He clearly has much more to offer and a clean run can allow him to show that. He’s worth a throw at the stumps and he should be decent odds. #13 Star Mac caught the eye with a fast-finishing third last time out. He can do the same again here under no weight. #2 Chancheng Glory is after a fifth straight win. He’s in the form of his life and should be able to cross the field for a forward position early on. #3 Speed Dragon was impressive last start. Don’t discount.

Race 10: Yuen Long Handicap (1.45am PST, 4.45am EST)

#3 Joyful Hunter was incredible last start and a repeat of anything close to that effort should see him win here. He’s a serious talent and he’s yet to reach anywhere close to his ceiling in Hong Kong. One to beat. #4 Leslie surprised last start. He’s holding his condition and can take his chance here. #6 Beauty Fit continues to race well without winning. He’s placed in each of his last five starts. #1 Beauty Crescent is still relatively lightly raced. He’s drawn to get the right run for Zac Purton.

Share this with your horse racing friends
Handicapping tips from agameofskill.com

Subscribe

* indicates required





Email Format


About Editor

Rich Nilsen is an 18-time qualifier to the National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), an event he has cashed in four times. He was the first player to finish in the top 10 of the NHC twice. A former executive with Brisnet.com and a member of the NHC Players’ Committee, Rich is a graduate of the University of Louisville Equine Business Program and is founder of AGameofSkill.com, a site devoted to horse racing education and promotion.

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Horse Racing News, International Horse Racing
Industry Profile: Leading NY Apprentice Jockey Jamie Torres

Jockey Jaime Torres won 37 races on the New York Racing Association, Inc. (NYRA) in 2023 to lead all apprentice...

Close