Archives for May 4, 2024

Hong Kong Expert Horse Racing Selections – Sunday, May 5

SHA TIN SELECTIONS
(Sunday, May 05, 2024)

Race 1: #8 La Forza, #5 Santorini, #9 Run Yes Run, #4 Meaningful Dragon
Race 2:
#7 Arthur’s Kingdom, #1 Colourful Baron, #3 Superb Daddy, #10 Green Laser
Race 3:
#8 Speedy Smartie, #3 Circuit Eleven, #1 Must Go, #10 Joyful Life
Race 4:
#1 Packing Hurricane, #4 Holy Lake, #6 Sunstrider, #3 Star Mac
Race 5:
#9 Yoda’s Choice, #5 Bottomuptogether, #2 Multisuper, #12 Ruby Sailing
Race 6:
#9 Joy Of Spring, #13 Chilli Baba, #2 Aestheticism, #1 Laugh Tale
Race 7:
#4 Ariel, #7 Call Me Supreme, #8 Storming Dragon, #12 Top Peak
Race 8:
#4 Five G Patch, #9 Ka Ying Generation, #1 Russian Emperor, #11 Unbelievable
Race 9:
#2 Victory Moments, #9 Nebraskan, #6 Monta Frutta, #3 Capital Delight
Race 10:
#8 Ka Ying Rising, #11 Gorgeous Win, #3 Packing Treadmill, #2 Bundle Of Charm
Race 11:
#3 Superb Kid, #9 Super Goldi, #4 Golden Artie, #8 Magnificent Nine

Race 1: The Argonaut Plate (9.30pm PDT, 12.30am EDT)

#8 La Forza finished second on debut. He ran well that day and will have taken plenty of improvement from that effort. He’s the one to beat here, especially with Zac Purton retaining the ride. #5 Santorini finished third in the same race. He’ll roll forward once more and give this group something to worry about. #9 Run Yes Run is another with race experience on the board. #4 Meaningful Dragon is first-up. He comes from the right stable and is worth keeping safe. Next best.

Hong Kong horse racingRace 2: Special Cargo Handicap (10.00pm PDT, 1.00am EDT)

#7 Arthur’s Kingdom is still yet to win in Hong Kong. He’s done his best racing this season and the weekend’s course and distance could be exactly what he is after to finally win, especially if there’s rain around. Taking a chance on him. #1 Colourful Baron is in superb form and he returns after narrowly missing last start. #3 Superb Daddy knows what it’s all about and he steps away from a favourable draw. He goes about his racing well. #10 Green Laser mixes his form but the featherweight impost has him fancied.

Race 3: Manicou Handicap (10.30pm PDT, 1.30am EDT)

#8 Speedy Smartie is only a one-time winner but he doesn’t know how to run a bad race. Expecting him to lead here and the return to his preferred course and distance is a big advantage. #3 Circuit Eleven floundered on debut, however, he can improve significantly by switching to the dirt course. He showed plenty of prowess in his trials on the surface and Zac Purton’s services are noteworthy. #1 Must Go is in sound form and his win two starts back was solid. #10 Joyful Life is next in line.

Race 4: Insular Handicap (11.00pm PDT, 2.00am EDT)

#1 Packing Hurricane is a nice horse and he gets a handy 10 pounds removed from his back here with Ellis Wong engaged. The inside gate suits and he was a winner in this grade three runs back. #4 Holy Lake is after back-to-back wins. He continues to improve and is usually underestimated. He gets his chance here. #6 Sunstrider is lightly raced but does appear to be coming to hand nicely. #3 Star Mac is racing well and he has a powerful finish on his day. He gets an opportunity.

Race 5: Isle Of Man Handicap (11.30pm PDT, 2.30am EDT)

#9 Yoda’s Choice did incredibly well last time out and that sort of performance has him favoured this weekend. He can take another step forward and Vincent Ho’s retention is ideal. #5 Bottomuptogether makes his debut. His latest trial was super impressive and he appears well placed to contend first-up. Zac Purton takes the ride. #2 Multisuper scored a well-deserved victory last time out. He knows how to win now and gets his chance this weekend. #12 Ruby Sailing is next in line.

Race 6: Norman Conqueror Handicap (12.00am PDT, 3.00am EDT)

#9 Joy Of Spring is in superb form. He’s so close to a first win and once again he gets a great chance to score breakthrough victory. One to beat, even from the wide gate. #13 Chilli Baba slots in light. He tends to mix his form, although his runs this campaign have been solid. He closed off nicely last start and can make his presence felt here. #2 Aestheticism has the wide draw to overcome. He’s a two-time course and distance winner already this season. #1 Laugh Tale is lightly raced but does have the scope to improve.

Race 7: Monaveen Handicap (12.35am PDT, 3.35am EDT)

#4 Ariel gets the 10 pounds taken off his back. He’s racing well and should be able to roll forward with ease here from gate five. One to catch. #7 Call Me Supreme again draws awkwardly but his latest effort for fourth was solid. He can improve and the services of Hugh Bowman once again are worth consideration. #8 Storming Dragon grabbed third on debut. He’s another who can improve significantly with more experience. #12 Top Peak slots in light and should get a sweet run from gate three.

Race 8: G3 Queen Mother Memorial Cup Handicap (1.05am PDT, 4.05am EDT)

#4 Five G Patch is on the quick back-up. He’s a nice horse and his run at Group 1 level last Sunday was very, very good. This is the sort of race he can make his presence felt in, especially over this sort of trip. #9 Ka Ying Generation was superb last start in the BMW Hong Kong Derby when finishing third. He’s an improving horse and he has run well over this trip before in Ireland. #1 Russian Emperor has the class to win. The hefty impost is the concern. #11 Unbelievable is improving and deserves respect.

Race 9: Game Spirit Handicap (1.35am PDT, 4.35am EDT)

#2 Victory Moments is a classy operator and he’s a winner already this season. He boasts some strong form behind Sing Dragon, enough so to suggest that he could win this weekend’s test. #9 Nebraskan returns for his second start. He trialled well on the dirt prior to his debut and has a suitable gate here. #6 Monta Frutta needs to overcome the barrier, although his recent form has been superb. #3 Capital Delight is next in line for an in-form Fownes/Ho combination.

Race 10: Brandy Snap Handicap (2.10am PDT, 5.10am EDT)

#8 Ka Ying Rising is a seriously smart horse. He’s won three times from five starts in Hong Kong and will make his Class 2 debut this weekend. The step up appears well within his grasp, especially from gate five under a low weight. #11 Gorgeous Win slots in light and continues to race well. He can test this group. #3 Packing Treadmill will get his shot on the speed or even in the leading position. He’ll get the right run from gate one. #2 Bundle Of Charm is in career-best form this season. Keep safe.

Race 11: Inch Arran Handicap (2.45am PDT, 5.45am EDT)

#3 Superb Kid is a talent and his last-start victory was superb. Zac Purton retains the ride and he should find a soft lead from gate one. He’ll take beating if can maintain his upward trajectory. #9 Super Goldi returned to his best in fine style last start. He has the gate to overcome, although he is open to improving again. #4 Golden Artie narrowly missed last start. He’s drawn poorly but this contest isn’t an overly strong one. #8 Magnificent Nine is progressing well and he can do the same again this weekend.