New! NTRA Eclipse 50 Contest

personal ensign

Personal Ensign at Saratoga. Copyright


One Participant Will Win a Trip for Two to Lexington as Part of Celebration of 50th Eclipse Awards

LEXINGTON, Ky. (December, 2020)—The NTRA announced that voting is underway at in the NTRA Eclipse 50 Contest which asks fans to select their top 10 favorite Eclipse Awards champions, along with their favorite champion jockey and trainer, from the past 50 years.

One contest participant will be selected to win a trip for two to Lexington, Ky., and spend a day at the races at Keeneland Race Course, tour the Four Roses Bourbon Distillery and visit historic Spendthrift Farm, one of the world’s most prestigious Thoroughbred stallion farms.

The Eclipse 50 ballot consists of 10 horses, one jockey and one trainer from each of the past five decades selected by a panel consisting of media, racing historians and others. The complete list of the Eclipse 50 champion horses and individuals can be accessed here.

Fans may enter the Eclipse 50 Contest one time per valid name, e-mail address and phone number at Eclipse 50 voting will conclude on Monday, January 25. The winning entry along with the all-time top 10 equine champions, jockey and trainer will be announced on January 28 on the Eclipse Awards virtual broadcast on TVG, Racetrack Television Network and other outlets.

Each day throughout the promotional period the NTRA will release video vignettes of different Champions selected to be among the Eclipse 50 greats. Click on the following links to view the first two vignettes in the series to be released: and

Individuals participating on the panel that selected the Eclipse 50 and Champion trainers and jockeys were: Edward L. Bowen, Charlsie Cantey, Adam Coglianese, Irwin Cohen, Steven Crist, Dora Delgado, Tom Durkin, Bob Ehalt, Bill Finley, Tracy Gantz, Jim Gluckson, Amy Gregory, Tom Hammond, Evan Hammonds, Gregory Harbut, Steve Haskin, Charles Hayward, Jay Hovdey, Alicia Hughes, Dave Johnson, Jonathon Kinchen, Cate Masterson, Tom Law, Tim Layden, Amy Owens, Ray Paulick, Tom Pedulla, Mike Penna, Jay Privman, William (Billy) Reed, Jennie Rees, Ramiro Restrepo, Tom Robbins, Peter Rotondo, Andy Serling, Ellis Starr, Todd Schrupp, Mary Simon, Lynne Snierson, Denise Steffanus, Sonny Taylor, and Jon White.

About Eclipse Awards

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies. Eclipse Awards are voted on by representatives of the NTRA, Daily Racing Form, and NTWAB.

Eclipse Awards sponsors include Spendthrift Farm, Keeneland, Roberts Communications, Four Roses Bourbon, Daily Racing Form, Breeders’ Cup, FanDuel Racing, The Stronach Group, TVG, Dean Dorton, Jackson Family Wines, Rood & Riddle Equine Hospital, and Hallway Feeds.