HKJC Expert Horse Racing Selections for Hong Kong – Sat., Jan. 13

SHA TIN SELECTIONS
(Saturday, January 13, 2024)

Race 1: #14 Smart Beauty, #2 Dragon Delight, #5 Fire Ball, #13 Tsuen Wan Glory
Race 2:
#8 Master Mastermind, #1 Top Scorer, #2 Joy Of Spring, #10 Mr Maestro
Race 3:
#1 Must Go, #3 Run Run Timing, #8 Ruby Sailing, #2 Sight Hero 
Race 4:
#6 Deep Pursuit, #1 James Tak, #9 Lifeline Express, #2 Metro Warrior
Race 5:
#2 Fighting Machine, #13 Kasi Farasi, #8 Volcanic Spark, #7 Master Tornado 
Race 6:
#7 Lucky Eternity, #12 Northern Beast, #1 Holy Lake, #3 Beato
Race 7:
#6 Galaxy Patch, #7 Lucky Encounter, #1 Ping Hai Galaxy, #5 Bundle Of Charm
Race 8:
#9 Denfield, #2 Cotton Fingers, #4 I Give, #10 Magnificent Nine
Race 9:
#7 Hakka Radiance,#13 Star Mac, #2 Chancheng Glory, #3 Speed Dragon
Race 10:
#3 Joyful Hunter, #4 Leslie, #6 Beauty Fit, #1 Beauty Crescent

Race 1: Hung Shui Kiu Handicap (9.00pm PST, 12.00am EST)

#14 Smart Beauty slots in light and gets a superb chance to record a first win. He caught the eye late last start, enough so to suggest that he was capable of breaking through. Angus Chung’s five-pound apprentice claim helps. #2 Dragon Delight is performing well in the bottom grade. He’s drawn ideally and pairs favourably with Hugh Bowman. #5 Fire Ball is after consecutive wins. He gets his chance here, however, he will need to overcome the wide gate. #13 Tsuen Wan Glory is next in line with the featherweight.

Race 2: Lam Tei Handicap (2nd Section) (9.30pm PST, 12.30am EST)

#8 Master Mastermind makes his debut. He’s done well ahead of his first-up run and he does look well placed here to make his presence felt in a big, big way. Worth a chance. #1 Top Scorer was sound first-up when finishing second. He can improve from that effort. #2 Joy Of Spring soared to an improbable runner-up finish on debut two runs back. He can return to form with the prospect of a dry track this weekend. #10 Mr Maestro has been solid across two runs and he can only get better. Keep safe.

Hong Kong horse racingRace 3: Lam Tei Handicap (1st Section) (10.00pm PST, 1.00am EST)

#1 Must Go makes a favourable step down to Class 4. He found form last start and shapes as the one to beat here, as long as he can back that effort up again. #3 Run Run Timing has finished third twice across two runs in Hong Kong. He continues to progress and his day will come soon enough. #8 Ruby Sailing knows how to run well without winning. He’s finished second four times across his short career, however, must be included once more with Hugh Bowman up. #2 Sight Hero is next in line.

Race 4: Lau Fau Shan Handicap (10.30pm PST, 1.30am EST)

#6 Deep Pursuit has taken some time to get going. He’s now ready to make his debut and he does so after an eye-catching trial at Conghua. He draws well for this race down the straight five furlongs and does get Vincent Ho up. One to beat. #1 James Tak is chasing back-to-back wins and he gets a handy 10 pounds taken off his back. He’ll be fighting out another finish. #9 Lifeline Express can improve after finishing third on debut. #2 Metro Warrior steps down to Class 4. He can compete strongly now.

Race 5: Nam Sang Wai Handicap (11.00pm PST, 2.00am EST)

#2 Fighting Machine is after consecutive wins and he can easily get that here. The wide draw is a hindrance, however, his latest score was superb and he remains in Class 4 following that effort. #13 Kasi Farasi was blocked for a run at crucial stages last time out. Expecting he can bounce back from that run, especially as he’s clearly in the right vein of form at the minute. #8 Volcanic Spark is lightly raced but does have plenty of upside, especially with Hugh Bowman taking the reins. #7 Master Tornado is next in line.

Race 6: Ping Shan Handicap (11.35pm PST, 2.35am EST)

#7 Lucky Eternity has raced well this season and he deserves a first win. He’s twice finished second over the course and distance this term, both times missing by under a length. Hugh Bowman hops back aboard and he’s ready to win. #12 Northern Beast closed off nicely to finish fifth last time out. Expecting similar again from him. #1 Holy Lake is a two-time winner from his last three starts. He can figure. #3 Beato is racing well and closing in on a first win. Zac Purton hops up here and he has claims.

Race 7: The Pok Oi Cup Handicap (12.05am PST, 3.05am EST)

#6 Galaxy Patch returns in a bid for a hat-trick of wins. He’s been touted as one of the next big things in Hong Kong racing and he shouldn’t disappoint this weekend. He can win and win well. #7 Lucky Encounter will prove a formidable opponent. He’s lightly raced and open to improvement as a smart four-time winner from seven starts. #1 Ping Hai Galaxy can fire forward to lead. He’s got the class-edge over rivals which does see him assigned top-weight. #5 Bundle Of Charm is next in line. He’s been solid this term.

Race 8: Tai Tong Handicap (12.35am PST, 3.35am EST)

#9 Denfield can offset the draw by rolling forward to lead. He won’t be alone, however, he has shown that he’s best suited from a forward position and he did also have excuses last start. He can return to form and give this race a shake. #2 Cotton Fingers should get the run of the race from draw one. He’s closing in on a first win and clearly has his fair share of ability. #4 I Give is another who should roll forward. He’s a prolific winner who can make his presence felt. #10 Magnificent Nine was without luck last start. Next best.

Race 9: Tin Shui Wai Handicap (1.10am PST, 4.10am EST)

#7 Hakka Radiance was impeded in the straight last start. He clearly has much more to offer and a clean run can allow him to show that. He’s worth a throw at the stumps and he should be decent odds. #13 Star Mac caught the eye with a fast-finishing third last time out. He can do the same again here under no weight. #2 Chancheng Glory is after a fifth straight win. He’s in the form of his life and should be able to cross the field for a forward position early on. #3 Speed Dragon was impressive last start. Don’t discount.

Race 10: Yuen Long Handicap (1.45am PST, 4.45am EST)

#3 Joyful Hunter was incredible last start and a repeat of anything close to that effort should see him win here. He’s a serious talent and he’s yet to reach anywhere close to his ceiling in Hong Kong. One to beat. #4 Leslie surprised last start. He’s holding his condition and can take his chance here. #6 Beauty Fit continues to race well without winning. He’s placed in each of his last five starts. #1 Beauty Crescent is still relatively lightly raced. He’s drawn to get the right run for Zac Purton.