Hong Kong Horse Racing Selections – Wed., May 22

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS
(Wednesday, May 22, 2024)

Race 1: #4 Go Go Go, #12 Green Laser, #5 Happy Hero, #1 Keen Unity
Race 2:
#6 Talents Supremo, #8 Mister Fox, #5 So Treasure, #11 Travel Golf
Race 3:
#6 Master Tornado, #4 Beer Palace, #2 Fighting Machine, #10 Palace Pal
Race 4:
#7 Flying Wrote, #10 Lean Master, #11 Speedy Chariot, #9 Sky Prophet
Race 5:
#7 Can’t Go Wong, #3 Kasa Papa, #8 Packing Wisher, #1 Cordyceps One
Race 6:
#1 Telecom Speed, #2 High Percentage, #4 Togepi, #7 Beauty Destiny
Race 7:
#1 Beauty Waves, #2 Celestial Colours, #8 Fast Serve, #5 Brave Star
Race 8:
#4 Sweet Briar, #6 Romantic Laos, #3 Ivy League, #2 Giddy Up
Race 9:
#3 Kurpany, #5 Colourful Emperor, #8 Superb Capitalist, #4 Tomodachi Kokoroe

Race 1: Chester Handicap (3.40am PDT, 6.40am EDT)

#4 Go Go Go is ever so close to a first win. He narrowly missed last start and a replication of that run will see him take beating. He’s the clear top pick, especially with Zac Purton retaining the ride. #12 Green Laser gets in light. He can mix his form, however, the featherweight impost and recent efforts suggest he can run well again. #5 Happy Hero has performed strongly over this track and trip before. #1 Keen Unity can improve getting out over further. This grade suits him. Keep safe.

Race 2: Hereford Handicap (3rd Section) (4.10am PDT, 7.10am EDT)

#6 Talents Supremo has proved consistent all season. He has a suitable draw this week and is deserving of another win this campaign, especially after proving competitive a number of times of late. One to beat. #8 Mister Fox keeps improving and his latest effort was sound. He can take another step forward. #5 So Treasure turned his form around last start, narrowly missing at odds of 31/1. He’ll give this group something to worry about. #11 Travel Golf is still without a win. He’s better suited to Happy Valley.

Race 3: Lancashire Handicap (2nd Section) (4.40am PDT, 7.40am EDT)

Surprising to still see #6 Master Tornado without a win. He’s been consistent all season and deserves a breakthrough triumph. The inside draw gives him every possible chance. #4 Beer Palace mixes his form but clearly has some ability. He’s worth keeping safe here from an in-form Mark Newnham stable. #2 Fighting Machine returned off a lengthy lay off earlier this month. He can improve again with that run under his belt. #10 Palace Pal doesn’t know how to run a bad race. Next in line.

Race 4: Hereford Handicap (1st Section) (5.10am PDT, 8.10am EDT)

#7 Flying Wrote did well to grab fifth on debut. He can improve with that run under his belt and this contest is more than suitable. One they all must beat. #10 Lean Master has a positive racing pattern. He’ll press forward and from there get his shot. #11 Speedy Chariot continues to take the right steps froward. He pairs favourably with Andrea Atzeni and the light weight affords him his opportunity. #9 Sky Prophet has twice been too far back in the run with too much work to do. Don’t discount.

Race 5: The St George’s Challenge Cup Handicap (1st Section) (5.40am PDT, 8.40am EDT)

#7 Can’t Go Wong has the draw to overcome, however, he is currently in career-best form. He’s found his groove and gets his chance here, even from out wide. Taking a chance on him to offset an unfavourable gate. #3 Kasa Papa has always shown his capabilities as a winner in waiting. His recent form has been sound and Hugh Bowman’s pairing is a plus. #8 Packing Wisher should get a sweet run from the inside gate. He can go close. #1 Cordyceps One can press forward and lead. He’ll take reeling in.

Race 6: Hereford Handicap (2nd Section) (6.10am PDT, 9.10am EDT)

#1 Telecom Speed narrowly missed last start. He goes about his racing well and should get every chance this week, especially from an ideal gate. One to beat. #2 High Percentage is seeking a hat-trick of wins. He remains in Class 4, which suits. The only knock is that he will have to overcome an awkward draw against a formidable group of rivals. #4 Togepi will give this group a head-start before charging home. #7 Beauty Destiny has ability, although he does show signs of inexperience. Don’t discount.

Race 7: Renfrew Handicap (6.45am PDT, 9.45am EDT)

#1 Beauty Waves is chasing a hat-trick of wins. He’s a serious talent on the rise and his latest two efforts have been super. Zac Purton retains the ride and the horse remains in Class 3, which holds him in very good stead. #2 Celestial Colours is lightly raced but does have ability. He’s a winner in this grade and does appear suited getting back in distance. #8 Fast Serve returns first-up this season after setbacks. He’s got ability and his latest trial at Happy Valley was encouraging. #5 Brave Star is next best.

Race 8: Selkirk Handicap (7.15am PDT, 10.15am EDT)

#4 Sweet Briar deserves another victory. He’s placed six times this season without winning and gets another super chance here. Zac Purton’s aboard and his recent form suggests he’ll prove hard to beat. #6 Romantic Laos has an ideal draw. He placed last start and can further build on that effort here, especially over his preferred distance. #3 Ivy League has turned his form around this season as a two-time winner. #2 Giddy Up can save ground throughout. Next in line.

Race 9: Wiltshire Handicap (7.50am PDT, 10.50am EDT)

#3 Kurpany returns after an extended break at Conghua following a setback. He gets a handy seven pounds taken off his back and his recent trackwork has appeared very, very good. He’s a winner in this grade already this season. Taking a chance on him at odds. #5 Colourful Emperor is a three-time winner from his last four starts. He’s in career-best form and will get his shot here. #8 Superb Capitalist can press forward and get his chance. #4 Tomodachi Kokoroe draws well. Next in line.

Share this with your horse racing friends
Handicapping tips from agameofskill.com

Subscribe

* indicates required





Email Format


About Editor

Rich Nilsen is a 19-time qualifier to the National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), an event he has cashed in four times. He was the first player to finish in the top 10 of the NHC twice. A former executive with Brisnet.com and a member of the NHC Players’ Committee, Rich is a graduate of the University of Louisville Equine Business Program and is founder of AGameofSkill.com, a site devoted to horse racing education and promotion.

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Horse Racing News
Preakness Stakes Winning Analysis with Wagering Strategies

Fresh off a successful KY Oaks and KY Derby, 19-time NHC Qualifier Rich Nilsen is back with his Preakness Stakes...

Close