Hong Kong Horse Racing Selections – Sun., May 19

SHA TIN SELECTIONS
(Sunday, May 19, 2024)

Race 1: #11 Great Days, #3 Mr Good Vibes, #9 Good View Glory, #6 Happy Tango
Race 2:
#5 Super Infinity, #11 Sky Song, #9 Yoda’s Choice, #1 Sakewin
Race 3:
#2 Taj Dragon, #4 Atullibigeal, #1 Healthy Happy, #3 Packing Treadmill
Race 4:
#7 Solid Win, #4 Fun N Fun Together, #1 Lucy In The Sky, #2 You’remyeverything
Race 5:
#4 Joy Of Spring, #11 Special Hedge, #8 Satirical Glory, #2 Romantic Fantasy
Race 6:
#10 Sky Trust, #5 War Of Courage, #6 Meepmeep, #3 Ariel
Race 7:
#13 Powerful Wings, #5 Elliptical, #9 Master Of Fortune, #1 Stunning Peach
Race 8:
#1 Sunny Da Best, #7 Lucky Touch, #12 Young Horizon, #9 Vantastic Choice
Race 9:
#5 Super Joy N Fun, #4 Full Credit, #3 Lady’s Choice, #6 Magnificent Nine
Race 10:
#4 Patch Of Theta, #7 Sky Heart, #12 Stellar Swift, #8 Loyal Bo Bo

Race 1: Ownership Pride 1200m Handicap (9.45pm PDT, 12.45am EDT)

#11 Great Days slots in light and gets an opportunity here. He’s been racing well of late and will be fighting out the finish if he manages to offset the awkward draw. #3 Mr Good Vibes has been racing off a dangerous mark for quite some time. He’s showing steady improvement and the booking of Karis Teetan is a plus. #9 Good View Glory gets the services of Zac Purton from gate two. He’ll save ground and give this group something to worry about. #6 Happy Tango can make all. He’ll take some reeling in.

Race 2: Racing Passion 1200m Handicap (10.15pm PDT, 1.15am EDT)

#5 Super Infinity has been trialling well. Zac Purton hops up for his first start and he can make an impact on debut. One they all must beat from the right stable. #11 Sky Song has been sound across two runs. He’s got some improvement to come and this contest is an ideal place for him to showcase it. #9 Yoda’s Choice is lightly raced but does continue to advance. He goes about his racing well and is suited here, even though his best efforts have come down the straight. #1 Sakewin has the class-edge. Keep safe.

Race 3: Racing Heritage Handicap 1400m Handicap (10.45pm PDT, 1.45am EDT)

#2 Taj Dragon steps down sharply in grade after racing in a trio of Group 1 races recently. He’s been performing well and the dip in class is suitable, especially with the apprentice taking seven pounds off his back. #4 Atullibigeal is a two-time course and distance winner this season. Zac Purton hops up and he’s well weighted this weekend. #1 Healthy Happy can fire forward and lead. He’ll control the tempo and should find the front with ease. #3 Packing Treadmill has consistency on his side. Don’t discount.

Race 4: The Racing Club 1200m Handicap (11.15pm PDT, 2.15am PDT)

#7 Solid Win caught the eye in his latest trial. He appears forward enough to make an impression first-up, especially as there’s clearly some talent there. #4 Fun N Fun Together falls into a similar category of trialling well and showcasing his fair share of potential. He also debuts and is expected to make his presence felt. #1 Lucy In The Sky is seeking back-to-back wins. He draws nicely and was nothing short of impressive last start. #2 You’remyeverything is a threat over this course and distance.

Race 5: The Hilltop In The Valley 1800m Handicap (12.10am PDT, 3.10am EDT)

#4 Joy Of Spring has been racing well. He’s placed in his last four runs and gets another super opportunity to win this weekend. Vincent Ho is up and he’s the one to beat. #11 Special Hedge is better than his record suggests and he’s a course and distance winner already this season. He should be value, especially as he is a very capable horse. #8 Satirical Glory is still without a win. He’s proving nearly impossible to catch, however, he is regularly competitive without breaking through. #2 Romantic Fantasy has claims.

Race 6: Sha Tin Clubhouse 1400m Handicap (12.40am PDT, 3.40am EDT)

#10 Sky Trust is unlucky not to have won a race this season. He charged into third spot last start and can easily improve from that performance. He’ll take catching. #5 War Of Courage can lead and is favoured with five pounds coming off his back. Expecting he’ll cross early in a bid to press for the front. #6 Meepmeep can do a bit wrong, however, he is clearly talented. Zac Purton hops up and he gets a super chance from gate one, if he manages to not over race. #3 Ariel gets seven pounds taken off his back. He’s a threat.

The Impact of the Hong Kong International RacesRace 7: The Members Cup Handicap (1.10am PDT, 4.10am EDT)

#13 Powerful Wings slots in light and has been a major threat for the bulk of this season, even without returning a second career win. His latest effort was sound and he could be coming to hand again at the right time. One to beat. #5 Elliptical turned in a much better performance last start. He can build off that effort and take his chance here. #9 Master Of Fortune is a three-time course and distance winner. He makes a stable switch, although his latest effort was very good. #1 Stunning Peach can bounce back on dry ground.

Race 8: Beas River Country Club 1400m Handicap (1.40am PDT, 4.40am EDT)

#1 Sunny Da Best was super impressive in victory last start. He remains in the grade, which is an advantage, as is gate six. One to beat again following that win. #7 Lucky Touch is inexperienced but showing enough. Zac Purton is up and he’s been heavily fancied both times in betting. #12 Young Horizon comes in with the featherweight as Ellis Wong takes seven pounds off with his claim. #9 Vantastic Choice will need to overcome the draw. He’ll press forward and get his chance.

Race 9: Levade 1200m Handicap (2.15am PDT, 5.15am EDT)

#5 Super Joy N Fun is a classy horse having won his first two starts. He finished second in his most recent outing, although he does appear to still have plenty of rating points in hand. One to beat. #4 Full Credit won well two runs ago. He can bounce back, especially from an ideal draw, however, this race does have its fair share of quality opposition. #3 Lady’s Choice has consistency on his side and he’s unlucky to not have another win on the board this season. #6 Magnificent Nine is next in line.

Race 10: Beijing Clubhouse 1400m Handicap (2.50am PDT, 5.50am EDT)

#4 Patch Of Theta is a two-time winner from seven starts. He’s a talent and is proven in this grade. Hugh Bowman’s booking again is an advantage. #7 Sky Heart continues to ascend and his form so far has been superb, twice winning from five starts. His ascent is far from over and the inside gate is a plus. #12 Stellar Swift slots in light and draws inside which helps. He continues to improve and has claims here. #8 Loyal Bo Bo has won two out of his last three starts. Gate two can bring him into contention.

Source: HKJC

Share this with your horse racing friends
Handicapping tips from agameofskill.com

Subscribe

* indicates required





Email Format


About Editor

Rich Nilsen is a 19-time qualifier to the National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), an event he has cashed in four times. He was the first player to finish in the top 10 of the NHC twice. A former executive with Brisnet.com and a member of the NHC Players’ Committee, Rich is a graduate of the University of Louisville Equine Business Program and is founder of AGameofSkill.com, a site devoted to horse racing education and promotion.

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in International Horse Racing
Hong Kong Expert Selections for Wednesday, May 15

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS (Wednesday May 15, 2024) Race 1: #8 Timestorm, #1 Cheer For South, #10 August Moon, #2 Noble...

Close