Hong Kong Horse Racing Expert Selections – Sun., March 31

SHA TIN SELECTIONS

(Sunday, March 31, 2024)

Race 1: #12 Hero Icon, #5 Hearty Wish, #8 Young Horizon, #14 Tsuen Wan Glory
Race 2:
#7 Sweet Diamond, #3 Rattan World, #2 Noble One, #6 Smart Leader
Race 3:
#4 Mugen, #7 Superb Boy, #2 All For St Paul’s, #5 Flaming Rabbit
Race 4:
#2 The Great Master, #7 The Perfect Match, #14 Prosecco, #1 Super Commander
Race 5:
#2 Daring Pursuit, #3 Golden Rise, #4 Flying Mojito, #9 Gimme Five
Race 6:
#3 Voyage Samurai, #8 Packing Wisher, #11 Patch Of Time, #12 Chilli Baba
Race 7:
#4 Superb Kid, #8 Beauty Fit, #11 Beauty Missile, #1 Huge Wave
Race 8:
#4 King Miles, #6 Storming Dragon, #2 Super Legends, #1 You’remyeverything
Race 9:
#13 Winning Data, #9 Silver Up, #3 Frantanck, #8 Beato
Race 10:
#1 Gorgeous Win, #7 James Tak, #8 Kaholo Angel, #13 Golden Long

 Race 1: New Asia Alumni Handicap (9.45pm PDT, 12.45am EDT)

 #12 Hero Icon turned in a solid effort last start and he can take another forward step here. He’s shown he’s capable of winning and does appear in the right vein of form at present. #5 Hearty Wish can mix his form but is going about his racing the right way. The inside gate suits him this week. #8 Young Horizon turned his form around last start and he could easily remain at that level of form this week. #14 Tsuen Wan Glory slots in light as he chases a hat-trick of wins. He draws ideally.

 

Hong Kong horse racingRace 2: Chung Chi Alumni Handicap (10.15pm PDT, 1.15am EDT)

 #7 Sweet Diamond is racing well and he deserves another win. He’s placed in three out of his last four outings and has proven before that he is able to overcome wide draws. #3 Rattan World won well three starts ago and he’s still in great condition. He’s since trialled at Sha Tin and he’s more than capable of winning here. #2 Noble One was a winner two starts ago and he can easily bounce back to his best, especially with Zac Purton up. #6 Smart Leader has a suitable draw and gets an opportunity.

 

Race 3: United Alumni Handicap (10.45pm PDT, 1.45am EDT)

 

#4 Mugen is a seriously good horse and he can beat this group. He’s a three-time winner this season with the form, ability and gate to win again. #7 Superb Boy is looking to snap a trio of runner-up efforts. He slots in light and continues to finish thereabouts. #2 All For St Paul’s continues to defy market expectations by either winning from the front or running very well, which once again, he is capable of doing here under familiar ally Matthew Poon. #5 Flaming Rabbit is better than his form suggests. He can bounce back.

 

Race 4: Faculty Of Education Alumni Handicap (11.15am PDT, 2.15am EDT)

 

#2 The Great Master gets a handy 10 pounds taken off his back. Expecting him to lead early in a bid to try and pinch this one. #7 The Perfect Match makes his debut with Zac Purton aboard. He’s been trialling well and definitely appears forward enough to figure on debut in Hong Kong. #14 Prosecco continues to race well even without winning. He slots in light and ticks several boxes once again. #1 Super Commander has the class edge. He’ll roll forward in a bid to offset the wide ally.

 

Race 5: The CUHK Alumni Cup Handicap (1st Section) (12.10am PDT, 3.10am EDT)

 

#2 Daring Pursuit is chasing back-to-back wins. He has the scope to keep improving and is favoured this weekend with 10 pounds taken off his back due to the apprentice’s booking. #3 Golden Rise won well three starts ago and has continued to race well. Zac Purton’s aboard and he gets his chance from gate three. #4 Flying Mojito is much better suited to this grade and he can begin to show something now. #9 Gimme Five has been consistent across two runs in Hong Kong. He’ll race well once more.

 

Race 6: Graduate School Alumni Handicap (2nd Section) (12.40am PDT, 3.40am EDT)

 

#3 Voyage Samurai has his fair share of talent and his two runs so far in Hong Kong have been superb, finishing second last start after winning on debut. He draws ideally and gets his chance here. #8 Packing Wisher is on the quick back-up after racing at the midweek fixture. Zac Purton hops up and he bears close watching. #11 Patch Of Time is lightly raced but does appear to steadily be piecing it all together. He does have the wide draw to overcome though. #12 Chilli Baba is still open to more improvement and he has claims.

 

Race 7: Shaw Alumni Handicap (1.10am PDT, 4.10am EDT)

 

#4 Superb Kid has done well throughout his first season of racing in Hong Kong. He’s a one-time winner and this contest appears more than suitable, especially with Zac Purton electing to ride. #8 Beauty Fit has been remarkably consistent all season, aside from a few of his recent runs. Expecting him to bounce back to his best here. #11 Beauty Missile slots in light and finds a suitable draw. He’s in sound form and he should be able to make his presence felt. #1 Huge wave turned his form around last start and deserves respect.

 

Race 8: Lee Woo Wing Alumni Handicap (1.40am PDT, 4.40am EDT)

 

#4 King Miles hit the ground running in Hong Kong with an excellent effort to finish fourth first-up. He can improve out of that run and shapes as the one they all must beat. #6 Storming Dragon makes his debut. His latest trial was solid and he can make an impact this weekend. #2 Super Legends is lightly raced but does have his fair share of ability. He goes about his racing well and the inside gate is favourable. #1 You’remyeverything has returned to form in Class 4. He can contend strongly with five pounds coming off his back.

 

Race 9: CW Chu And Wu Yee Sun Alumni Handicap (2.15am PDT, 5.15am EDT)

 

#13 Winning Data is in career-best form with a trio of wins from his last four starts. He draws ideally once more and is worth taking a chance on up in grade. #9 Silver Up continues to improve and he’s proven consistent so far in Hong Kong. He gets a super chance to breakthrough this weekend. #3 Frantanck got his win two starts back and should get an opportunity here from the suitable gate. #8 Beato has been racing well and deserved his win three starts back. He can make his presence felt with Zac Purton up.

 

Race 10: Morningside And S.H. Ho Alumni Handicap (2.50am PDT, 5.50am ET)

 

#1 Gorgeous Win is talented and he’s chasing a hat-trick of wins this weekend. He remains in Class 3 following recent efforts and gets another chance here. He has the class edge and is the clear top pick. #7 James Tak is open to further improvement. He’ll make an impression against this group. #8 Kaholo Angel gets the 10 pounds removed and may not know himself under the featherweight. #13 Golden Long has a bit of ability and he’s worth consideration here.

Share this with your horse racing friends
Handicapping tips from agameofskill.com

Subscribe

* indicates required





Email Format


About Editor

Rich Nilsen is an 18-time qualifier to the National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), an event he has cashed in four times. He was the first player to finish in the top 10 of the NHC twice. A former executive with Brisnet.com and a member of the NHC Players’ Committee, Rich is a graduate of the University of Louisville Equine Business Program and is founder of AGameofSkill.com, a site devoted to horse racing education and promotion.

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in International Horse Racing
Hong Kong Expert Selections – Wed., March 27

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS (Wednesday, March 27, 2024) Race 1: #2 Windicator Family, #7 Atomic Beauty, #1 Viva Hunter, #10 Mach...

Close