HKJC Sha Tin Analysis for Sunday, December 10

SHA TIN SELECTIONS
(Sunday, December 10, 2023)

Race 1: #10 Storm Rider, #6 Gorgeous Win, #12 Round The Globe, #13 Lucky Planet
Race 2:
#13 G Liner, #6 Romantic Hero, #9 Winning Data, #3 Eighty Light Years
Race 3:
#9 Global Harmony, #7 Simple Hedge, #3 Tamra Blitz, #5 Amazing Victory
Race 4:
#3 Zeffiro, #8 Lebensstil, #9 Warm Heart, #5 West Wind Blows
Race 5:
#5 Victor The Winner, #2 Wellington, #1 Lucky Sweynesse, #8 Jasper Krone
Race 6:
#1 Awesome Fluke, #2 Ensued, #3 Silver King, #6 Universal Horizon
Race 7:
#7 Beauty Eternal, #1 Golden Sixty, #11 Encountered, #14 Divina
Race 8:
#7 Straight Arron, #2 Romantic Warrior, #4 Rousham Park, #3 Prognosis
Race 9:
#6 Windicator Family, #4 The Heir, #1 Galaxy Patch, #5 Beauty Waves
Race 10:
#5 Fantastic Treasure, #7 Helios Express, #8 Atullibigeal, #12 Taj Dragon

Race 1: Silent Witness Handicap (8.25pm PST, 11.25pm EST)

#10 Storm Rider has performed well at the trials and he can make good use of a favourable draw. His recent work alongside talented stablemate Global Harmony looked very good. #6 Gorgeous Win finished third on debut and he can improve following that effort. Zac Purton hops up and he should get every chance. #12 Round The Globe should arguably already be a winner. He has the wide draw to overcome but his ability is better than it reads on paper. #13 Lucky Planet has the good draw and some claims.

Race 2: Beauty Generation Handicap (8.55pm PST, 11.55pm EST)

#13 G Liner finally draws a gate. He can use this to his advantage and he’s definitely got more to show than what we’ve seen so far. Strong booking with Vincent Ho up again. #6 Romantic Hero is better than his first-up effort showed. He’s got the talent and can bounce back here. #9 Winning Data is after consecutive wins. He’s suited from barrier three. #3 Eighty Light Years can take another step forward second-up following a break. He just needs to overcome the sticky draw. Jerry Chau’s in good form.

Race 3: Maurice Handicap (9.35pm PST, 12.35am EST)

#9 Global Harmony was enormous from a terrible draw last start. He’s suited here from a better draw as he continues on an upward trajectory. #7 Simple Hedge is a three-time winner from seven starts, who can continue to build a solid record for master trainer John Size. Zac Purton takes the ride once more from a positive gate. #3 Tamra Blitz mixes his form but was a strong last start winner. He’s hard to catch but should get every opportunity from barrier three. #5 Amazing Victory has consistency on his side.

Race 4: G1 LONGINES Hong Kong Vase (10.10pm PST, 1.10am EST)

#3 Zeffiro appeals here following a strong win at Tokyo last start at G2 level. He will relish every inch of this distance, especially as a relatively lightly raced four-year-old. His best is yet to come. #8 Lebensstil also hails from Japan and was also the winner of a solid G2 contest before shipping to Hong Kong. He can still improve as well. #9 Warm Heart has done well against her own sex, however, this is tougher. She has class. #5 West Wind Blows is consistent and his Australian efforts were very good. Next best.

Race 5: G1 LONGINES Hong Kong Sprint (10.50pm PST, 1.50am EST)

Challenging contest but #5 Victor The Winner is open to improving again, especially as a five-year-old. He’s got his fair share of class and the draw should see him park on the speed, just in behind the leader. #2 Wellington was sound first-up following a lengthy layoff. He will improve and a clean run can afford him his shot. Big threat. #1 Lucky Sweynesse is the city’s leading sprinter, however, his recent wins haven’t been convincing. #8 Jasper Krone will lead. He’ll fly to the front and set a cracking pace.

Race 6: Jim And Tonic Handicap (11.25pm PST, 2.25am EST)

#1 Awesome Fluke was superb on debut in Hong Kong when third. He’ll take the right steps moving forward and his pairing with Joao Moreira this weekend bodes well. #2 Ensued has quickly announced himself as a leading Hong Kong Derby prospect. He’ll make his presence felt again, especially as a two-time winner from two starts. #3 Silver King can improve over this trip after narrowly missing over the mile last time out. Nice horse. Must respect. #6 Universal Horizon has ability. The draw isn’t ideal.

Race 7: G1 LONGINES Hong Kong Mile (12.00am PST, 3.00am EST)

#7 Beauty Eternal has the perfect draw and the right run can see him really test this group. This is his toughest test to date and admittedly he mixes his form but he is open to improving and he appeals at odds. #1 Golden Sixty is arguably the best horse ever to race in Hong Kong and he will be a deserved favourite, however, at the short odds he isn’t worth backing. He’ll be right there. #11 Encountered isn’t top three on talent but he should get a sweet run from gate one. #14 Divina has a suitable draw. Keep safe.

Race 8: G1 LONGINES Hong Kong Cup (12.40am PST, 3.40am EST)

#7 Straight Arron should be enormous value and he is another who continues to improve. He’s yet to peak this season and if there are any queries regarding the favourite, then he can pick up the pieces and win. #2 Romantic Warrior will be the market elect and rightly so, especially with several top-class wins over the trip. Slight query after travelling. #4 Rousham Park has a wide draw but was impressive last start. That effort was soft and the form is strong. #3 Prognosis is a threat. He’s placed at the track and distance.

Race 9: Lord Kanaloa Handicap (1.20am PST, 4.20am EST)

#6 Windicator Family did his best work late last start. He will continue to improve and does look to have plenty of talent. Expecting him to put his best foot forward this weekend, especially with Luke Ferraris up again. #4 The Heir narrowly missed on debut and he can take the right steps forward. The wide draw will be a challenge. #1 Galaxy Patch is already a two-time winner from three starts. He’s a smart talent. #5 Beauty Waves has ability and Zac Purton retains the ride. Next in line.

Race 10: Highland Reel Handicap (2.00am PST, 5.00am EST)

#5 Fantastic Treasure will improve following his first-up run, especially as Zac Purton hops up now. He hasn’t won for some time, however, he does dip from Group 2 to Class 2 this weekend. #7 Helios Express was superb first-up and will chase a fourth consecutive win. He’ll be hard to beat, admittedly, but the wide gate is a slight concern, especially with a young horse. #8 Atullibigeal keeps on rising and the low weight and inside gate are suitable. #12 Taj Dragon is next in line. He has claims.

Share this with your horse racing friends
Handicapping tips from agameofskill.com

Subscribe

* indicates required





Email Format


About Editor

Rich Nilsen is an 18-time qualifier to the National Horseplayers Championship (NHC), an event he has cashed in four times. He was the first player to finish in the top 10 of the NHC twice. A former executive with Brisnet.com and a member of the NHC Players’ Committee, Rich is a graduate of the University of Louisville Equine Business Program and is founder of AGameofSkill.com, a site devoted to horse racing education and promotion.

Speak Your Mind

*

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in International Horse Racing
HKJC Analysis for Wednesday Morning Horse Racing

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS (Wednesday morning, December 06, 2023) Race 1: #4 Valhalla, #10 Noble Boyz, #12 Noir Rider, #6 Goodmanship...

Close