Archives for April 9, 2024

Hong Kong Horse Racing Selections – Wed., April 10

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS

Hong Kong Horse Racing Selections

(Wednesday, April 10, 2024)

Race 1: #11 Green Laser, #4 Happy Hero, #3 Colourful Baron, #9 Diamond Winner
Race 2:
#5 E Universe, #1 Happy Golf, #2 Street Conqueror, #8 Super Eagle
Race 3:
#2 Mr Ascendency, #3 Moments In Time, #5 Galaxy Witness, #8 Outgate
Race 4:
#1 Copartner Prance, #3 Sky Song, #10 Tattenham, #12 My Intelligent
Race 5:
#5 Devas Twelve, #8 Sturdy Ruby, #10 Mr Aladdin, #9 Sure Joyful
Race 6:
#6 Winning Heart, #8 Crystal Powerful, #1 Telecom Speed, #4 Great Achiever
Race 7:
#2 Capital Legend, #4 Gallant Valour, #8 Chater Gold, #1 D Star
Race 8:
#5 Show Respect, #2 Winning Dragon, #1 Hameron, #7 Lovero
Race 9:
#2 Colourful Emperor, #11 Nebraskan, #9 Sweet Briar, #8 Sports Legend

Race 1: Flamingo Flower Handicap (3.40am PDT, 6.40am EDT)

#11 Green Laser slots in light and does so off a very dangerous mark. He closed off nicely last start and any further improvement from that effort holds him in good stead. One to beat under an in-form Keith Yeung. #4 Happy Hero can turn his form around. He’s better than his recent struggles suggest and the inside gate is favourable. #3 Colourful Baron has the gate to offset, although over this trip he has enough time to do so. #9 Diamond Winner has the closing speed to make his presence felt.

Race 2: Freesia Handicap (3rd Section) (4.10am PDT, 7.10am EDT)

#5 E Universe steps out off a dangerous mark. He’s led and won before, so chances are he tries the same again here with Lyle Hewitson going up from gate five. One to catch. #1 Happy Golf scored a win full of merit two starts ago and he’s remained in super condition. Hugh Bowman’s engaged and he’ll get his shot. #2 Street Conqueror has the wide gate to overcome but is open to improvement. Zac Purton’s booking bodes well for this week’s contest. #8 Super Eagle is next in line.

Hong Kong Happy Valley fireworksRace 3: Geranium Handicap (4.40am PDT, 7.40am EDT)

#2 Mr Ascendency is seeking a hat-trick of wins. He’s versatile, has the class and draws favourably as he looks to maintain his winning run. He’s the one they all must beat. #3 Moments In Time got on the board last start. He gets the services of Zac Purton here and chances are he rolls forward once more. #5 Galaxy Witness continues to race well without winning. There are no reasons to suggest he won’t do so again. #8 Outgate looks ready to be tested at this level. He gets his chance with no weight allotted.

Race 4: Freesia Handicap (1st Section) (5.10am PDT, 8.10am EDT)

#1 Copartner Prance broke through in fine style last start. Expecting he continues his advance here, especially as he remains in the same grade after that win with Zac Purton engaged. #3 Sky Song did well to grab third on debut in Hong Kong. He goes about his racing well and can take another forward step this week. #10 Tattenham has the wide gate to overcome, however, he does have the ability to take out a race like this one. #12 My Intelligent is next in line. He slots in light and has claims.

Race 5: The Lusitano Challenge Cup Handicap (1st Section) (5.40am PDT, 8.40am EDT)

#5 Devas Twelve was a tidy winner two runs back. He’s still improving and this race shapes as ideal for him, especially from gate four with Zac Purton up. #8 Sturdy Ruby has raced well all campaign without winning. He’s in the right vein of form to contend strongly this week. #10 Mr Aladdin has been knocking on the door for some time now. He has a suitable gate and a positive racing pattern, both of which will aid him. #9 Sure Joyful knows what it’s about. Huge threat.

Race 6: Freesia Handicap (2nd Section) (6.10am PDT, 9.10am EDT)

#6 Winning Heart is seeking back-to-back wins. He was impressive last start and remains in the same grade following that effort. He’s the one to beat here. #8 Crystal Powerful is a two-time winner this term. He can return to form from a suitable draw. #1 Telecom Speed is suited in this grade and pairs favourably once more with Hugh Bowman, who steered him to victory three starts ago. He’s capable of overcoming the hefty impost. #4 Great Achiever is better than his form suggests. He’s the value in this one.

Race 7: Lavender Handicap (2nd Section) (6.45am PDT, 9.45am EDT)

#2 Capital Legend is racing well and has improved in Class 4. He narrowly missed last start and a replication of that run should see him take beating. Hugh Bowman retains the ride, which is a huge positive. #4 Gallant Valour has the draw and he should be able to get the best run. Zac Purton sticks aboard and he’s the main danger. #8 Chater Gold has actually been racing well and he’s worth a throw at the stumps. #1 D Star has the apprentice up and is suited in this grade. Next best.

Race 8: Kalanchoe Handicap (7.15am PDT, 10.15am EDT)

#5 Show Respect is chasing a hat-trick of wins. He’s in superb form and his ascent can continue here, especially from gate two and in Class 3 again. #2 Winning Dragon is nothing short of consistent and he continues to show up each and every start. He has an affinity with this course and will be making a big impact this week. #1 Hameron turned his form around last start. He’s progressive and has a bit of improvement still to come. #7 Lovero is honest and just has the wide draw to overcome.

Race 9: Oncidium Handicap (7.50am PDT, 10.50am EDT)

#2 Colourful Emperor goes about his racing the right way. He’ll fly forward to lead this group and from there take plenty of catching, just as he has done in his most recent two starts which returned wins. #11 Nebraskan makes his debut. He’s looked smart in his trials and his two wins in Australia were sound. He is well placed to make his presence felt first-up. #9 Sweet Briar is nothing short of consistent and he deserves a reward for all of his efforts. #8 Sports Legend is next in line. He won well last time out.