Hong Kong Horse Racing Selections – Sun., June 23

SHA TIN SELECTIONS
(Sunday, June 23, 2024)

Race 1: #12 Sweet Smile, #1 Beauty Missile, #10 My Wish, #11 Yuen Long Elite
Race 2:
#4 Perfect Team, #5 Super Win Dragon, #7 So We Joy, #9 Talents Ambition
Race 3:
#14 Brave Witness, #8 Mission Bravo, #2 G Liner, #11 Lucky Banner
Race 4:
#5 Volcanic Spark, #7 Mister Dapper, #1 Serangoon, #4 Gallant Hero
Race 5:
#8 Storming Dragon, #4 Steps Ahead, #7 Meepmeep, #1 Amazing Duck
Race 6:
#5 Master Mastermind, #10 Beauty Alliance, #9 Vantastic Choice, #2 Sunny Da Best
Race 7:
#5 Universal Horizon, #11 Oriental Smoke, #6 Awesome Fluke, #3 Woodfire Bro
Race 8:
#1 California Spangle, #5 Mugen, #2 Taj Dragon, #7 Telecom Fighters 
Race 9:
#2 Galaxy Patch, #3 Happy Together, #4 Nimble Nimbus, #1 Beauty Joy
Race 10:
#5 Lucy In The Sky, #2 Young Superstar, #6 Not Usual Star, #12 Silk Road Glory
Race 11:
#6 Stellar Express, #1 Top Gun, #9 Rubylot, #14 Thriving Brothers

Hong Kong Horse Racing Selections

Race 1: Ruby Handicap (1.00am PDT, 4.00am EDT)

#12 Sweet Smile is making nice progress. His second start was much improved and the inside draw will afford him a very good chance. He’s the one to beat here with Hugh Bowman up. #1 Beauty Missile has placed five times and is unlucky to not already be a winner in Hong Kong. He drops to Class 4 now and shapes as a main danger this weekend. #10 My Wish finished fifth on debut and he can improve here. That was a strong effort and he gets his opportunity. #11 Yuen Long Elite is next in line, especially from an ideal draw.

Race 2: Spessartine Garnet Handicap (1.30am PDT, 4.30am EDT)

#4 Perfect Team is consistent and he gets his opportunity, especially with seven pounds coming off his back. He draws ideally and can take advantage of these circumstances for an in-form Caspar Fownes. #5 Super Win Dragon is better than his record suggests. He mixes his form but if he manages to find his best then he can easily make his presence felt. #7 So We Joy is a winner already this season. This contest appears suitable for him. #9 Talents Ambition slots in light and draws well. He’ll be thereabouts.

Race 3: Topaz Handicap (2.00am PDT, 5.00am EDT)

#14 Brave Witness has done well on the dirt across his short career. He went close last start and improvement out of that run should see him take beating, especially under the featherweight. #8 Mission Bravo can press forward and take an opportunity from there. He has the draw to overcome, although he does have race experience on his side. #2 G Liner is seeking back-to-back wins. He has the right gate and Hugh Bowman retains the mount. #11 Lucky Banner has a good gate and he’s not without a hope.

Race 4: Emerald Handicap (2.30am PDT, 5.30am EDT)

#5 Volcanic Spark is nearing another win. He’s remained in super form and gets that chance here, especially with an ideal draw on his side in this grade. One they all must catch. #7 Mister Dapper can easily reverse his form. He’s better than his record suggests and may have just got a touch lost around Happy Valley last time out. #1 Serangoon has top-weight and the wide gate to overcome, although he does have the class-edge. #4 Gallant Hero goes about his racing well and he rates strongly here. Next best.

Race 5: Diamond Handicap (1st Section) (3.00am PDT, 6.00am EDT)

#8 Storming Dragon is closing in on a first win. He’s clearly got the ability and has gone close already across three runs, twice placing. One to beat, especially with Zac Purton retaining the ride. #4 Steps Ahead is aiming to snap consecutive runner-up efforts. He’s hit the ground running and can continue to improve this weekend. #7 Meepmeep has placed twice across three runs. He’s another nearing a first win and he deserves respect here. #1 Amazing Duck has the apprentice up and is worth respecting.

Race 6: Diamond Handicap (2nd Section) (3.30am PDT, 6.30am EDT)

#5 Master Mastermind has serious potential and he should take beating here. Hugh Bowman is aboard and this horse appears to have his fair share of untapped talent. One to catch. #10 Beauty Alliance raced wide and without cover last start. He can improve out of sight this weekend, assuming he receives a clean run throughout. #9 Vantastic Choice can press forward and find the front against this group. He’s favoured with three pounds removed. #2 Sunny Da Best can return to form and he deserves another shot.

Race 7: Lapis Lazuli Handicap (4.05am PDT, 7.05am EDT)

#5 Universal Horizon finished runner-up last start. He went close that day and deserves another shot here, especially from a suitable barrier. He looks ready for the step up in trip now. #11 Oriental Smoke is aiming to snap a string of placings. He did well last start and another solid effort is expected this weekend. He’ll lead and give this group something to reel in. #6 Awesome Fluke is aiming for consecutive wins. He deserves respect here. #3 Woodfire Bro is next best. He has the gate to overcome this weekend.

Race 8: G3 Premier Cup Handicap (4.35am PDT, 7.35am EDT)

#1 California Spangle is the clear one to beat. He’ll press forward and give this group something to reel in, especially as he is the only Group 1 winner in the field. #5 Mugen gets in light and keeps on improving. He’s a nice horse and he receives a super chance with the featherweight assigned in the form of Karis Teetan. #2 Taj Dragon has consistency on his side and he was a tidy winner two runs back. He’s a six-time course and distance winner. #7 Telecom Fighters slots in light and can outperform his odds.

Race 9: G3 Premier Plate Handicap (5.10am PDT, 8.10am EDT)

#2 Galaxy Patch continues to meet every challenge thrown his way and he can do so again here. He’s got a stack of ability, he’s versatile and he’s the one they all must beat. #3 Happy Together did well to finish fourth at Group 1 level last start. He’ll make his presence felt if he manages to perform at that level again. #4 Nimble Nimbus is in seriously good form and his most recent barrier trial was impressive. He loves the course and distance. #1 Beauty Joy has claims. He just has a hefty impost to overcome.

Race 10: Sapphire Handicap (5.45am PDT, 8.45am EDT)

#5 Lucy In The Sky is a two-time winner from his last three starts. He rises in grade here, although the step up does appear well within his grasp. He’ll take beating. #2 Young Superstar won well on debut in Hong Kong. He’s a Singapore import, who has done superb since arriving at Sha Tin with Tony Cruz. #6 Not Usual Star gets his chance from the positive gate. He’s lost form a bit, although he is capable on his day. #12 Silk Road Glory makes his debut after trialling well of late at Conghua. Zac Purton’s pairing is worth keeping an eye on.

Race 11: Amethyst Handicap (6.20am PDT, 9.20am EDT)

#6 Stellar Express raced on the speed last start, although did manage to hold on for third. He can improve with that run under his belt and he is most-deserving of a first win. #1 Top Gun is a talent and he can bounce back this weekend. He was classy with victory on debut, producing an effort which can easily see him take put pressure on this group. #9 Rubylot has consistency on his side and pairs favourably with Zac Purton. #14 Thriving Brothers slots in light and his first-up run was outstanding. He can take another forward step.

Share this with your horse racing friends

FREE Saturday Horse Racing Play – June 22, 2024

Our Free Saturday horse racing play offers up our expert analysis on one select race and includes a handicapping lesson. Race 8 at Belmont at the Big A, post time 4:11pm, 6 furlongs Turf       FREE Saturday Horse Racing … [Continue reading]

Trainer Bill Mott’s Gala Brand the One to Beat on Saturday

source: NYRA.com Arnmore Thoroughbreds and Even Keel Thoroughbreds’ Grade 3-winner Gala Brand is set to return from an over seven-month layoff in Saturday’s Listed $150,000 Wild Applause, a one-mile inner turf test for sophomore fillies, at … [Continue reading]

Recap of the Belmont Stakes Won by Dornoch

by Mary Eddy For the first time in 156 years, the Grade 1 Belmont Stakes presented by NYRA Bets saw the quest for glory in the final leg of racing’s Triple Crown take place at Saratoga Race Course. Dornoch, under jockey Luis Saez, rose to the … [Continue reading]

Hong Kong Expert Horse Racing Selections – Wed., June 12

HAPPY VALLEY SELECTIONS (Wednesday, June 12, 2024) Race 1: #1 Dragon Pride, #6 Speedstar, #10 Viva A La, #3 Keen Unity Race 2: #1 E Legend, #3 Mister Dapper, #4 Dragon Star, #7 Courier Magic Race 3: #8 Gold Tack, #7 Precise Express, #11 … [Continue reading]

10 Keys to Winning and Turning a Profit at Saratoga

Updated for 2024 Download this free guide "Beat Saratoga: 10 Tips for Turning a Profit" by AGameofSkill.com founder Rich Nilsen and give yourself the best chance to win at the 2024 Saratoga meet. Beating this 40-day meet with so many contentious … [Continue reading]

Sha Tin Hong Kong Selections for Saturday night, June 8

SHA TIN SELECTIONS (Saturday, June 08, 2024) Race 1: #1 My Intelligent, #7 Super Joy, #8 Beat Hollow, #2 The Concentration Race 2: #7 Fast Network, #3 Aurora Lady, #10 Grand Nova, #6 Day Day Victory Race 3: #2 Baby Crystal, #1 We Are Hero, #5 … [Continue reading]

Nilsen’s 2024 Belmont Stakes Package with Wagering Strategies

Wagering Strategies & Spot Plays by Rich Nilsen This is Rich Nilsen's home track and the results have showed in recent years. Nilsen gave out $34.80 winner Creator as his top pick as well as the huge exacta with Destin that returned over $260.  … [Continue reading]

NHC Tournament Schedule for June 2024

June 2024 NHC Qualfier Schedule Subject to Change Monmouth Park June 1 | $2000 Pick Your Prize Handicapping Challenge – Final number of entries will determine prizes (18 seats guaranteed at 200 entries). HYBRID June 2 | $300 NHC Qualifier - 2 … [Continue reading]

Sha Tin Horse Racing Selections from Hong Kong – Sun., June 2

SHA TIN SELECTIONS (Sunday, June 2, 2024) Race 1: #2 Turtle Again, #7 Happy Hero, #6 Go Go Go, #9 Arthur’s Kingdom Race 2: #1 Mr Ascendancy, #2 Wonder Kit, #3 Supreme Lucky, #5 Superb Boy Race 3: #13 Happihood, #3 Tactical Command, #10 Casa … [Continue reading]